Bedford & District 1895 Coloured Edition - England Sheet 203a

  • £3.50
    Unit price per 
  • Save £0.25
Tax included.

This folded map which measures approximately 24" x 18" when unfolded is produced by Alan Godfrey and covers an area of about 18 miles by 12 miles. It shows railways, roads and canals, and gives a broad view of a wider area. It also includes an introduction and a more detailed map of a small town or village.

This Inch to the Mile map, centred on Bedford, is split between Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire, with a small area of Northants in the NW corner. Coverage stretches from Stoke Goldington and Bradwell eastward to Cardington, and from Harrold southward to Ampthill Park (though Ampthill town is beyond the map). In the SW corner is the area now covered by much of Milton Keynes, but in 1895 Bedford and Newport Pagnell were the only towns on the map. Railways include the Bedford & Northampton line and the Newport Pagnell branch. On the reverse of the Coloured Edition (203a) we include a detailed map of Milton Keynes village in 1898; the uncoloured version (203b) we include an extract from Bedfordshire Sheet 10.07, showing Turvey and Cold Brayfield in detail.

It is not possible to list the many hamlets, farmsteads and other topographical features shown on these maps. However, you may find it useful if we list the towns and principal villages or church parishes that are included on this map. Links are given for those for which detailed large-scale maps are also available.

Bedfordshire: Bedford, Biddenham, Bromham, Cardington, Carlton, Chellington, Clapham, Cranfield, Goldington, Hardmead, Harrold, Haynes, Kempston, Lidlington, Millbrook, Milton Ernest, Oakley, Pavenham, Ravensden, Salford, Stagsden, Stevington, Turvey, Willshamstead, Wilden, Wootton.

Buckinghamshire: Bradwell, Broughton, Chicheley, Clifton Reynes, Cold Brayfield, Emberton, Filgrave, Gayhurst, Great Linford, Great Woolstone, Haversham, Lathbury, Lavendon, Little Linford, Little Woolstone, Milton Keynes, Moulsoe, New Bradwell, Newport Pagnell, Newton Blossomville, North Crawley, Olney, Ravenstone, Sherington, Stantonbury, Stoke Goldington, Tyringham, Warrington, Weston Underwood, Willen.

Northamptonshire: Yardley Hastings.

It will be posted in a board backed envelope to ensure it reaches you in perfect condition.