Montgomery & District 1908 - Wales Sheet 165

  • £3.50
    Unit price per 
  • Save £0.25
Tax included.

This folded map which measures approximately 24" x 18" when unfolded is produced by Alan Godfrey and covers an area of about 18 miles by 12 miles. It shows railways, roads and canals, and gives a broad view of a wider area. It also includes an introduction and a more detailed map of a small town or village.

This One Inch to the Mile map covers a border area divided between Montgomeryshire and Shropshire, with a small area of Radnorshire included to the SW. Coverage stretches from Newtown eastward to Norbury and Lydbury North, and from Montgomery itself southward to Clun. This is hilly country, and hills include Cilfaesty Hill, Bryn Gydfa, Black Mountain, Corndon Hill. Apart from Newtown, the towns are tiny affairs: Clun, Montgomery, Bishops Castle with its celebrated railway. On the reverse we include a large scale, detailed map of Montgomery or Trefaldwyn.

It is not possible to list the many hamlets, farmsteads and other topographical features shown on these maps. However, you may find it useful if we list the towns and principal villages or church parishes that are included on this map. Links are given for those for which detailed large-scale maps are also available.

Montgomeryshire: Church Stoke, Hyssington, Kerry, Llandyssil, Llanllwchaiarn, Llanmerewig, Montgomery, Newtown, Snead.

Radnorshire: Beguildy.

Shropshire: Bettws-y-crwyn, Bishops Castle, Clun, Clunbury, Lydbury North, Lydham, Mainstone, More, Norbury.

It will be posted in a board backed envelope to ensure it reaches you in perfect condition.