South Derbyshire & NW Leicestershire 1896 - England Sheet 141

  • £3.50
    Unit price per 
  • Save £0.25
Tax included.

This folded map which measures approximately 24" x 18" when unfolded is produced by Alan Godfrey and covers an area of about 18 miles by 12 miles. It shows railways, roads and canals, and gives a broad view of a wider area. It also includes an introduction and a more detailed map of a small town or village.

This One Inch to the Mile map straddles the border between Derbyshire and Leicestershire, while smaller areas of Nottinghamshire and Staffordshire also intrude. Coverage stretches from the eastern edge of Burton on Trent eastward to the centre of Loughborough, and from the southern half of Derby southward to Ashby de la Zouch. Note that coincidentally Burton, Derby and Loughborough are all split by the sheetlines. Transport historians will find several interesting railways, including the Derby & Ashby, Burton & Swadlincote, and Charnwood Forest Branches, as well as the River Trent which winds across the map; today the East Midlands Airport is near the centre of this map. On the reverse we include an extract from Derbyshire Sheet 58.06, showing the town centre of Melbourne in detail, including The Hall, Kendrick Mills, Market Place; this is accompanied by a directory.

It is not possible to list the many hamlets, farmsteads and other topographical features shown on these maps. However, you might find it useful if we here list the majority of the principal villages and church parishes that are included on this map. Links are given for those for which detailed large-scale maps are also available.

Derbyshire: Alvaston, Aston upon Trent, Barrow upon Trent, Borrowash, Boulton, Breaston, Burnaston, Caldwell, Chellaston, Church Gresley, Dalbury, Draycott, Egginton, Elvaston, Etwall, Findern, Forentark, Hartshorn, Ingleby, Linton, Littleover, Long Eaton, Melbourne, Mickleover, Newhall, Normanton, Osmaston, Repton, Sawley, Shardlow, Smisby, Stanton by Bridge, Swadlincote, Swarkeston, Tickhall, Trusley, Twyford, Weston upon Trent, Willington.

Leicestershire: Ashby de la Zouch, Belton, Blackfordby, Castle Donington, Cole Orton, Disworth, Hathern, Hemington, Kegworth, Lockington, Long Whatton, Loughborough, Osgathorpe, Shepshed, Swannington, Thorpe Acre, Thringstone, Worthington.

Nottinghamshire: Attenborough, Barton in Fabis, Gotham, Kingston upon Soar, Normanton upon Soar, Ratcliffe upon Soar, Sutton Bonnington, Thrumpton, Toton, West Leake.

Staffordshire: Stapenhill, Stretton, Winshill.

It will be posted in a board backed envelope to ensure it reaches you in perfect condition.