Southend on Sea 1895 - Essex Sheet 78.11
STEVE GARTON GENEALOGY - GODFREY EDITION OLD ORDNANCE SURVEY MAPS
SOUTHEND ON SEA 1895 - ESSEX SHEET 78.11
These detailed maps normally cover an area of about one and a half miles by one mile. Each map includes an introduction and many include extracts of directories, local transport timetables and additional maps.
This detailed map covers the centre of Southend, coverage stretching from Park Road and Park Street eastward to Southchurch Hall; and from North Avenue and Kilworth Avenue southward to the sea. Features include the GER and LTS main stations (later Victoria and Central); Marine Park, Western Esplanade, Marine Parade, Eastern Esplanade, High Street, gasworks, Pier Pavilion (though much of the pier stretches beyond the map), Porters, Thames Farm, Clifftown, St John the Baptist church, All Saints church. The beginning of development along Southchurch Road is shown. The map captures the town at a fascinating stage, with the population growing from 12,380 in 1891 to 27,299 in 1901, and it had become a borough in 1892. Many central streets are shown here, especially off York Road, half complete.
It will be posted in a board backed envelope to ensure it reaches you in perfect condition.